Thoughts after the Royal Rumble

To whoever-

For the second year in a row, watching the Royal Rumble has made me feel like something no one wants to feel, insignificant. Last year I was actually upset that Daniel Bryan didn’t win the Rumble, this year I just feel burned out.

As soon as the rumble ended I re-watched Stone Cold’s podcast with Vince, and this talk of “brass rings” and how he listens to the audience just seems like a giant farce. It’s like running on a treadmill, no matter how fast or how hard you run, you don’t move any further than the couple feet in front of you, unless you’re granted the honor of getting into the company’s good graces.

While last year just felt like a giant oversight, this year felt like those in charge were just extending a giant middle finger to me as a fan. Last year felt like you (however unbelievable it is) were just caught with your pants down. This year felt like you didn’t even care about pulling them back up again.

If the fact that one of the few untouchable personalities you have left (the other being Stone Cold) didn’t even make a dent in the wave of boo’s being given to Roman Reigns was something you didn’t see coming, you couldn’t be further off the mark.

This year I didn’t even need Bryan to win. I would have liked it, but I was fortunate enough to be in New Orleans and saw Bryan leave with the championship. Maybe just like last year the company will make a 180 and totally change some oversights (and maybe this year it’s part of the “plan”) but the way the “internet favorites” on your roster got eliminated almost seemed like the booking was both purposeful and malicious.

To put it as simply as I can, the fact that the crowd in Philadelphia, the birthplace of America was cheering for the Russian patriot to beat your winner can say more than I could ever say. That would be like the audience in Rocky IV deciding to cheer for Drago because Rocky was written so poorly and acted even worse. The fact that my friend who hates wrestling ended up scratching his head at the decisions during the Rumble said even more.

I would love to cancel the network to “stick it to WWE” but I don’t want to have my love of wrestling be sacrificed to send a message. One shouldn’t have to come with the other. While voting with your wallet is an American tradition, this only tells half the story. I’d pay 8.99 to keep everything but the new pay per views if that’s what it took to send the message to this company.

-“I’ve grabbed so many of Vince McMahon’s imaginary brass rings, that it’s dawned on me that they’re just that. Completely imaginary” Even though CM Punk said this back in 2011, it could have been said 15 minutes ago. Do better WWE, do better.

Leave a comment